Tuesday, January 23, 2018

abhinavbindral2Top Rifle Shooters of India to slug it outat the Premier Invitational Shooting Competition organised by Lakshya Shooting Club, founded by Olympian, Arjuna Awardee – Suma Shirur

The Event is held as an open platform to promote camaraderie among the top rifle shooters of India; to compete fiercely and interact freely before the start of a new shooting season every year.

The competition is by ‘INVITATION ONLY’ for the cream of Indian Shooting conceptualised as Men-Women mixed event since 2008 and a brainchild of Word Record Holder (10 m. Air Rifle) – Suma Shirur.

The RR Lakshya Cup will be held on 29 Dec 2017 in honour of our Guru Shri. Sanjay Chakraverty This year’s Dronacharya Awardee, Shri. Sanjay Chakraverty (Guru to Anjali Bhagwat, Deepacroppedjpgli Deshpande, Suma Shirur, Gagan Narang and many others) will grace the event and interact with the star shooters

Lakshya Cup will be an ideal match practice for the start of the 2018 Shooting season with the first two National Selection Trials in January itself.

In Suma’s shooting career she has spent huge amounts to participate in small intense competitions throughout Europe only to stay in the competitive zone in the Shooting season.

With that in mind Lakshya Cup aims at creating a similar competitive environment which is so important for top shooters in enhancing high quality training and the ability to perform at the highest level.

The star-studded line-up of RR Lakshya Cup 2017 is going to see a tough competition for the coveted all Silver Rotating Cup, won last year by National Champion in 10 m. Air Rifle – Meghana Sajjanar. Who is it going to lift the Cup this year?

Witness the spectacle at Karnala Sports Academy’s world class shooting range in Navi Mumbai. The senior finals start at 15:45 hrs.

Also attending the event will be the Navi Mumbai Commissioner of Police, Shri. Hemant Nagrale(who himself is no mean marksman) and my close friendOlympianDeepali Deshpande.The founder of Karnala Sports Academy, Shri. VivekPatiland MLC Shri. BalaramPatil will also be present at the function
IMG-20171228-WA0000The list of participating top shooters includes the following:

Anjali Bhagwat (Olympian 2000, 2004 & 2008 and former World no.1, Khel Ratna Awardee 2003)

Suma Shirur (Olympic Finalist & World Record Holder 2004, Arjuna Awardee)

Tejaswini Sawant (World Champion& World Record Holder 2010, Arjuna Awardee)

Ravi Kumarfrom IAF (Bronze medallist Asian Shooting Championship, Wako City 2017)

Deepak Kumar from IAF (Finalist –World Cup 2017, New Delhi and ASC Wako City 2017)

Anjum Moudgilfrom Pun. (Bronze – ASC 2014, Kuwait and current National Champion)

Akhil Sheoranfrom UP (Silver – IJC Suhl 2015
, Bronze – ASC Nanchang 2012 & current senior Indian Shooting Team member)

PratikBorse from Mah. (Silver – ASC 2015, New Delhi and Indian Shooting Team member)

Tejas Karle from Mah. (Jun. Finalist – ASC 2013, Tehran) and many other top 20 Indian Shooters

The Finals will be followed by Prize Distribution Ceremony at 17:00 hrs

Date: 29 Dec 2017

Venue: Karnala Sports Academy, Panvel, Navi Mumbai

Organised and Conceptualised by : Suma Shirur, Founder-President, Lakshya Shooting Club